Please note the hours of operation. You can refer to the Fee Table. This also applies to your spouse and dependents that are also out of state. Drivers moving from other states cannot renew an expired license in West Virginia, and must, instead,. If you'd like to request a replacement card, please see our guide to. You will find the new renewal fee and year of expiration on it.
West Virginia drivers licensesexpire the year in which the driver s age is divisible by five. Your driving privileges will be suspended for receiving a ticket violation or if you are ever involved in a car accident, and you are found to not have insurance. The picture used for the license will be the most current one on record. You will be given an additional six 6 months from the time that you return to West Virginia from your active duty service. Waiting until the last day can complicate matters if there are any delays. First time driver s license applicants 18 and older must first obtain an instruction permit and keep it for at least 30 days before they are eligible for a road test.
Your car insurance provider may give you a rate discount if you complete a training course. A physical driving license will not be issued; rather the driver will receive a certified copy of their indicating the extended expiration date. Make checks payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Veteran and Organ Donor License Renewal West Virginia license renewal can include Veteran and organ donor identifiers. Auto Insurance By law, in West Virginia you must carry a minimum of car insurance liability insurance.
West Virginia auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your own vehicle. Learn More About West Virginia Driving Rules for Seniors The has a wealth of information for West Virginia drivers, including licensing and vehicle registration requirements. If your license was issued after the year 2001, your expiration date will always fall on your birthday. The renewal of your license is a great time to find out if you are still paying the best rates for your current insurance policy. For more information about the Gov2Go app and website go to. In addition, any driver who is younger than 21 years of age, renewing a commercial license or not an American citizen is ineligible for online submission. The goal of this program is to have everyone's driver licenses in West Virginia expire after five 5 years.
When you visit Gov2Go, you will be able to manage your reminders at any time as well as sign up for additional services. The most common restriction for older drivers is to require glasses or corrective contact lenses. However, be mindful that the online method is only available to certain applicants, depending on their age and citizenship status. For now, if you are unsure of your expiration date, just take a look at your license and look for the row titled Exp: Please take a look at the sample license below. Become a Better West Virginia Driver Looking for more information and guides to become a better West Virginia driver? Please remember that giving false information on your license renewal application is grounds for suspension as it is a crime. Regardless if you receive a notice or not, if you go over your expiration date, your license will become expired. The same time restrictions exist for drivers submitting applications in any format.
By Mail Certain motorists are eligible to renew their drivers licenses by mail. For example, a 22 year old recently issued a new drivers license will be next up for renewal when he or she turns 25 years old. State or local government issued Certificate of Birth, or a Certificate of U. For specifics regarding your case, visit a. Driver's License Renewal in West Virginia You must renew your driver's license in West Virginia before it expires in order to continue driving legally in the state. You must go in person and be prepared to hand in your documents. Drivers who have applied for a non-federal drivers license replacement will receive their drivers license during their visit to the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles office.
Valid License: You can renew your Class E, Class D, or motorcycle-ony license every five years either by mail or in person. If you are currently on active duty and your license is expiring, please take a look at out military drivers section below. The Division of Motor Vehicles oversees the West Virginia license renewal process. Suspensions must be dealt with accordingly or you will not be allowed to renew your driver's license in West Virginia. The Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles does not issue hardship licenses. A driver can only reinstate suspended drivers licenses after their suspension period has passed and they have paid their drivers license reinstatement fees.
Such offenders are advised by the state to participate in an appropriate substance abuse treatment program to help them avoid further suspended drivers licenses. How to Get a License Reinstated For information on how to get back a license that has been suspended or revoked in West Virginia, contact one of the located throughout the state. Most locations business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a. Most likely your car insurance has been raised so consider shopping around for a new policy. West Virginia Drivers License Renewal Documents In order to get your new federal compliant driver's license, you will be required to show these documents. Citizen Renewals If you are not a U.
Drivers license renewal applicants must present their current drivers license as well as one document proving their West Virginia residency. To make sure that you are fully prepared to complete the process, you can download our informative online guide. Suspended drivers license reinstatement fees vary depending on the type of violation for which the driver was convicted. Additionally, if your license expires on your eighteenth 18th or twenty first 21st birthday, you will have a an additional thirty 30 days to renew because you will need to upgrade to a color license. In the case of a passport card, or federally recognized driver s license, drivers will be issued a temporary drivers license to use until their card arrives by mail within 10-15 business days. On top of that, your renewal will require more conditions if you allow your license to expire after a certain period.
For a complete list of accepted documents, visit the. No, there is no age limit to renew drivers license in West Virginia. According to a release, licenses can be renewed 24 hours and day, 7 days a week. When reinstating suspended drivers licenses, drivers must be sure to take care of their outstanding obligations as outlined in their notice of suspension. To check the status of your West Virginia driver's license, visit our page about. Insurance rates for drivers who've been involved in suspension or revocations are likely to see a significant increase in their insurance premiums. Vision tests are also administered on location.